broadsideblog

A Searing Letter to The NYT Explains Why Women Need Access To Safe Abortions

In Health, women on December 7, 2009 at 12:20 pm
LOS ANGELES, CA - JANUARY 22:  Mary Beth O'Don...

Image by Getty Images via Daylife

The letters page of The New York Times is almost always dominated by confident male voices. Women — why? — rarely take up more space in this coveted bit of real estate. This letter today, from a woman who had her abortion on a veterinarian’s table in 1962, left me wanting to cry, and to share it more widely:

A Pregnant Pause” (Week in Review, Nov. 29) gives an incredibly accurate picture of the generation gap on abortion rights, one that I had trouble understanding until I read your article.

I am nearing 70. In 1962, as a married lady of 20 with one more year of college to go for my degree, our birth control failed. I was pregnant. We were frantic. My husband and I were barely surviving financially, and we were struggling to support ourselves. If we could have supported a child, we would not have been using birth control.

We had a friend, a veterinarian, who offered to help us. I climbed onto the dog table, weeping, my husband holding my hand. After the procedure I hemorrhaged and we rushed to the emergency room. I told them the story, just leaving out how the hemorrhaging started, and they classified it as a “spontaneous abortion.”

Our lives went on, we’re still happily married, and we have two successful adult children. But as I watch the assault on reproductive rights, my heart is still filled with dread, and my memory returns to that morning on the dog table.

I hope no young woman ever has to handle her reproductive choice as I was forced to. They can make any law they want to make, but they can never make a woman have a baby. We will do what we have to do, and for today’s young, access to abortion must remain safe, affordable and legal.

Barbara Russakov
Anaheim Hills, Calif., Nov. 29, 2009

  1. Thanks for posting. Wow.

  2. Similar story, greasy-haired abortionist who didn’t even have veterinary training, happy ending (I lived, have 3 wonderful grown healthy children) and it was repeated daily. Uncounted thousands of desperate women died in those so-easily-forgotten days. If the “pro-lifer”s only knew. Thanks, Caitlin!

  3. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sheila Zhao, Emily Rauhala. Emily Rauhala said: Bleeding on a vet table http://bit.ly/7wsymy Why Abortion access matters. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,202 other followers

