broadsideblog

Happy-Merry-Politically-Correct-Whatever! On Hiatus For A Few Days

In Uncategorized on December 21, 2009 at 9:07 pm
The Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree in New Y...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ll be off duty here from the 22nd to the 27th., heading north to Canada for Christmas.

Thanks to all of you regulars for being there and the rest for stopping by to visit. I was perhaps the most dubious of bloggers when I first posted here on July 1, 2009, Canada Day, but it’s been fun. I’ve learned a lot, made some new friends and am enjoying the challenge of trying to be lucid and interesting with some regularity. This month, I achieved, in 21 days, almost 6,000 unique visitors. And none of them are my Mom!

While we finish out 2009, and the decade, I’m deeply thankful for the gifts that don’t come wrapped in shiny paper:

your time, attention and thoughts; healthy parents; a lovely partner who’s even managed to keep his journalism job; loyal friends, both old and new; wise colleagues; good health; a cool book to write and a smart young editor, thanks to my tough new agent — and a smart place to hang my hat in the blogosphere.

For someone in a dying industry, I feel oddly optimistic.

May your holidays, and 2010, be filled with joy, friendship, work you value, hope, solvency, health and love.

I offer you a favorite poem by one of my favorite poets, Willam Butler Yeats, written in 1899:

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

  1. A very happy holiday to you and yours. Thank you for the interesting topics.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,187 other followers

