broadsideblog

How Do I Look? Asking Strangers' Advice On-Line

In Fashion, Media on July 9, 2010 at 2:18 am
LONDON - SEPTEMBER 17:  Cheryl Cole walks down...

Image by Getty Images via @daylife

I find this both helpful and a little sad — that anyone so trusts a bunch of strangers and so lacks self-confidence.

From The New York Times:

Not long ago, people turned to fashion magazines for advice. Now they are turning to one another. Web sites like Fashism and Go Try It On, both less than a year old, are picking up where fashion blogs have left off, and are making fashion more immediate and personal.

The premise is simple enough: Upload a photo of yourself wearing a particular outfit. Ask a question or share some details about your look. Users then rate your outfit by clicking “I like it” or “I hate it” on Fashism (or “Wear It” or “Change It” on Go Try It On).

Would-be Rachel Zoes can also comment. It’s similar to that Web site Hot or Not, where users rate one another’s sex appeal. But these sites are geared for fashion and, more refreshingly, are largely free of the snark or harsh judgments that plague earlier crowd-sourcing sites.

“It’s for people who want a quick second opinion,” said Marissa Evans, 26, a former Web analyst and strategist in New York, who started Go Try It On. Ms. Evans employs a small team of moderators to ensure civility. “I really wanted to build a site that is helpful, not hurtful,” she said.

If you’re not sure about a look, who do you turn to for advice or feedback?

Or do you simply trust your own judgment?

Or…not care how you look?

  1. How soon before hookers start using this to find clients?

    Yeah — yesterday.

  2. I ask my boyfriend. He’s honest, and has actually told me something doesn’t look right, nicely. I trust his judgement since he’s the one who has to be seen with me!

  3. But what about boyfriends who hate to answer that question? Or have a lousy sense of style?

    While I hate the idea of turning to the internet for every damn thing, I also wish I had more people to turn to for this sort of advice. I’m a whiz at interior design but can feel less sure of some fashion choices.

    I think the problem is…who are these people offering their opinion?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,099 other followers

