broadsideblog

Sitting At The Bar

In behavior, travel on July 22, 2010 at 2:24 am
great dive bar in lower garden district, New O...

Image via Wikipedia

I usually have such good luck.

Not tonight. It was the end of the fireworks — 200,000 happy Vancouverites having thronged the beaches to watch them from a barge in the harbor. I sidled up to my hotel bar and found myself next to the most boring person I have ever met.

Ever.

“I can’t believe how hot it is here,” he said; he being a contractor from a suburb of San Francisco. “I thought Canada had perpetual winter.”

Normally, I smile indulgently. Not this time.

“You’re kidding, right?”

He went on to rave about the novels of James Michener and how great they are, like “Hawaii.”

And, sue me, I hate it when men ask your name right away. Lively conversation first, ask name later. It’s the price of admission.

I make it a point to sit at the bar most of the time, especially when eating alone. It’s usually a lot more fun than reading or watching people read (please) their emails.

Earlier this week I met Homa and Babak, an Iranian couple, and had a great conversation — I had no idea Tehran has a ski hill. (Homa showed me a photo on her Iphone.) Then chatted with a young Australian girl who’s just moved here.

In Atlanta last fall, I sat in a great old dive bar and had an hour-long chat with a terrific local guy, so when it works, it works well.

Do you sit at the bar and talk to strangers?

  1. You might already know me well enough to guess this but no. On the rare occasion I’m at the bar, I glare at strangers.

  2. Glare? You?

    I tried to glare at that guy last night, but no. Nothing deterred him. I know he was just trying to be friendly but I wasn’t up for it.

    If you drank more, you’d be friendlier. I bet.

  3. Ha. I used to drink more. I’m afraid you’re mistaken.

  4. It happens.

    Not everyone is as gregarious as I am.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,210 other followers

