broadsideblog

Trying To Remember, Hoping To Forget

In animals, behavior, domestic life, family, Health, History, life, travel, Uncategorized on March 12, 2011 at 1:03 am
Build a clock

Image by lisibo via Flickr

Today marks the 14th. annual USA Memory Championship, which pits high school students against one another to see whose brain retains the most. It’s held in Manhattan and open to the public.

What? You forgot?

I recently finished a three-week trip and my camera kept reminding me that its memory card was full, so — on the fly — I’d ruthlessly edit images I didn’t think worth keeping to capture a few more.

Memory is one of our most precious attributes.

One of my favorite films (and also my sweetie’s) is After Life, a Japanese film from 1998 about memory and how precious it is to us. The film’s premise is that, after you die, you will be forced to choose only one memory of all those you have accumulated. Which would you choose?

My mother was diagnosed this year with dementia, and I know it will likely worsen, so memory has become more of an obesssion with me. How much longer will she remember her life, her travels, her friends?

Her only child?

Here’s a new book, wildly and widely reviewed, about memory, “Moonwalking With Einstein” by Joshua Foer.

And what of hideous memories, the ones we so badly want to forget but which, so annoyingly, seem the hardest to get rid of? For me, these would include the night my husband walked out of our brief marriage, for good; the night my beloved red convertible was stolen; watching my Mom (who came out fine) heading into a six-hour neurosurgery…And our memories shift our perceptions, altering how we create and recall new ones.

I stayed on this trip at a resort hotel whose motto is that they create memories, an interesting idea. I brought home several from that trip, perhaps the most indelible being a dog-sledding expedition of about 90 minutes that took us along a tree-lined trail, across a barren, wind-swept frozen lake, alongside a river whose waters were so clear and blue we could see all the way to the bottom.

The dogs kept looking back at us as if to make sure we were still there. Wind clawed at my cheeks so viciously I feared imminent frostbite. A winter sky was as white and impenetrable as the snow on the Rocky Mountains around us.

Unforgettable…

I hope.

What is your most powerful memory and why?

  1. I don’t know what my most powerful memory is, but I know that smells and certain feelings in the air can trigger memories for me.

  2. Wonderful piece! Both of my grandmother’s suffered from Alzheimers disease in their later years. As I grow older (in my 40’s now)memory concerns me more. Thanks for sharing a thought-provoking post.
    ~Marissa

  3. Dear Caitlin

    So sorry to hear about you Mom not being well. She and I spent a memorable summer together in Greece when I was 14. We had such fun and did some pretty wild things. I have passed on your link to my Mother, Angela, who was concerned as she didn’t receive a letter from Cynthia this Christmas, the first time I think for about 30 years. Do send Cynthia my love. Emma

    ps she always called me Doggie!

    • So great to hear from you…I always envied you that trip to Greece. It sounded great!]

      Please email me off my website, caitlinkelly.com. and I’ll give you both Cynthia’s new address and fill you in. Love to your Mom!!!

  4. Hi! I’ve been following your web site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the good work!

  5. Highly energetic post, I liked that bit. Will
    there be a part 2?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,088 other followers

