broadsideblog

The Perfect Wedding Dress

In behavior, culture, design, domestic life, family, Fashion, Style, women on June 4, 2011 at 12:55 pm
Cover of "Royal Wedding"

Cover of Royal Wedding

So…did you love the dress?

Anyone of us willing to ‘fess up to watching the recent Royal Wedding (hello, Grace Kelly!), knows that all eyes were on the prize — not the Prince, the dress.

As brides everywhere gear up for their spring and summer weddings, you can almost hear a chorus of shrieks and sighs over the color, style, fit, price and comfort level of that most iconic of garments, the wedding dress.

I was married May 31, 1992 in a gorgeous 1833 chapel on the Hudson River, in a day of record rainfall, wearing a dress made in about 1905, beige and white and black cotton, with a crisp cotton petticoat underneath. I loved my dress, which cost a big $300, as it was charming, comfortable, flattering and distinctive.

The marriage? Not so much. He was gone by our second anniversary and re-married within the year to a woman who attended the ceremony. Ouch!

There are few garments a woman will ever wear so subject to incredible public scrutiny and judgment, let alone meant to to carry her gracefully through such a  momentous transition.

I loved this true story about a wedding dress that traveled the world, from Florida to Massachusetts to New Zealand and back twice.

And this collection of moving personal essays , published in 2007 in Canada, about women and their dresses.

My next trip up the aisle, which I’ll get to eventually (after 11 years with the sweetie), I have no idea what to wear.

What did you wear on your wedding day?

Did you love it?

Gentlemen, what did your wife wear?

  1. Not even engaged yet, but I’ve wondered about this (a lot!) recently.

    Always known I wouldn’t go for the meringue type dresses. One, it isn’t me, and b. I’d have to sit in it/on it.

    Want something floaty and hippyish, with slipper shoes. No veil, maybe a few well-placed hair-clips and a butterfly bouquet.

    No, I haven’t thought this through. At all. ;)

    • Cute! I think we all wonder what we’d wear…When it came my time, I had a very tight budget, was not thin and tall and hated how I looked in white. That left me in tears with most traditional dresses.

      Next time….I have a gorgeous teal/emerald floor-length taffeta skirt that might be great with the right shoes (!?) and top.

      Being a jewelry gal, I focus much more on the rings. :-)

  2. Sorry, I can’t help saying this: being a gay man in a long-term relationship, I only wish the law in Australia allowed me to get married. Dammit. Needless to say, if we could, there’d be suits involved. Lovely suits. Brand new for the day. And worn with such pride after the event. For a long time.

  3. Wish I could help you celebrate. I had no idea Oz was that conservative socially/politically. My best friend who’s gay married his husband about seven years ago in Ontario.

  4. I am planning our little Big Day now, and I still don’t have a clue as to what to wear. I have been told, however, that my typical yoga pants and flip-flops look will not do :)

  5. I wore a quick-dry athletic shirt with a dusty pink/maroon sarong skirt for my wedding. We got married on a whim while kayaking off the north coast of Vancouver Island, so at least I wasn’t in my neoprene wetsuit! :) Best memories ever, and I get to re-live my wedding every time we head out on a hike, because I still wear the shirt for most outdoor pursuits.

  6. Great story! I think neoprene would have given you a very Matrix-y wedding.
    Did you get out of the kayak for your vows? Celebrate with an Eskimo roll?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,339 other followers

