broadsideblog

Wise Words From 1913: Nothing Changes

In books, business, politics, US on November 18, 2011 at 3:39 pm
The corner of Wall Street and Broadway, showin...

Image via Wikipedia

“Oh, we’ve only just begun. We’re waking up to a sense of our responsibilities, out here, and we ain’t afraid, neither. You fellows back there must be a tame lot. If you had any nerve you’d get together and march down to Wall St. and blow it up. Dynamite it, I mean.”

“That would be a waste of powder. The same business would go on in another street. The street doesn’t matter.”

I just read these prophetic words; hint, it’s a classic novel many Americans read in their schoolwork but I just read for the first time.

Who wrote them, and in which book?
  1. I thought for sure at first it must be Sinclair Lewis, but no Willa Cather wrote the passage in O Pioneers. Why did you decide to read it now?

  2. Indeed!

    I had always been curious about her work, and had never read it. I was at the library so thought I’d start with this one (a slim volume) and see if I liked it. If I did (and I liked it a lot), I decided I’d go back and read more.

    Did you read it in school? Did you like it?

  3. I did and I enjoyed it once I got into it. I still have my copy from college on the shelf.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,092 other followers

