broadsideblog

A wordless post: photos from Philadelphia

In antiques, beauty, cities, culture, design, photography, travel, urban life, US on April 18, 2012 at 1:34 am

I take a lot of photos, and thought I’d share a few from my visit to Philadelphia last weekend.

None of them, of course, show anything even vaguely touristy…

I don’t know the name of these things — shutter-hold-backers? — but I love how this one looks like a highly-polished seahorse.

I am crazy for weathered, beaten, battered objects. This bit of alligatored paint was in the doorway of a building we walked past on our way to brunch.

Found this flattened tulip in the yard of one of the city’s oldest churches.

Isaiah Zagar has covered many city buildings with his astonishing mosaics. This is a tiny fragment of one of them.

We went to the Fourth Street Deli and ate huge sandwiches. Their collection of early cash registers included this one.

We found many narrow, cobble-stoned streets and mews. This was one.

A detail of a church stained glass window. Jewels!

I hope you enjoyed these.

I plan to share more photo posts.

  1. What a beautiful post! It gives us a clue as to the eyes YOU see with!
    One can be articulate with or without words.

  2. Always an insight to see a place from another’s perspective … not that I’ve ever been to Philadelphia but I do feel that I’ve a little bit of that city that most people haven’t. Thanks.

  3. Mental note to self to proof my comments ‘before’ posting…

  4. It made sense to me…

  5. This is so cool! I came over to your blog after you “liked” my post on writer’s desks and I am so glad I did! I love how you captured the untourist-y images. I do the same when I travel…interesting ironwork, a park bench with peeling blue paint, a child flying a kite, etc. I’m glad I found you.

  6. The hardware which holds back the storm shutters are known as ‘shutter dogs’. Some are works of art in and of themselves.

    Small Dog’s Mom

  7. Shutter dogs! And I was just rolling the ‘word’ ‘shutter-holder-backerers’ round my mind to type here. Foiled again! But they’re fantastic. Like some kind of household throwing implement for domesticated ninjas.

  8. Lovely sight-see, here! Beautiful old brick, old paint, old glass. Thank you, ~ Lily

  9. Wonderful images! Thank you for sharing and for mentioning Isaiah Zagar – I had a very happy hour last night taking a Google tour of his life and work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,178 other followers

