broadsideblog

What’s your dream job?

In behavior, blogging, books, business, education, journalism, life, Media, men, news, photography, science, sports, women, work, world on November 27, 2012 at 12:36 am
English: Club Eifel disc jockey DJ Blaze plays...

English: Club Eifel disc jockey DJ Blaze plays music at the 2009 Air Force Ball. (U.S. Air Force photo/Airman 1st Class Nick Wilson Spangdahlem Air Base, Germany) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here’s a fascinating bit of social science data — a survey of 8,000 LinkedIn members worldwide asking them to name their dream jobs.

It differs, as you’d expect, country by country; the top choice, in India, Singapore, Indonesia and Brazil was engineer, while Germans and Hong Kong residents chose scientist.

Canadians and Americans said being a teacher was theirs.

I’m surprised, certainly in the U.S., because public education has recently become such a battleground, over texts, tests, salaries, tenure. The pay is generally low and some parents’ expectations savagely and unrealistically high, if the parents are even involved at all.

The top choices also differed hugely between American men and women.

In order, men chose: professional or Olympic athlete, plane or helicopter pilot, scientist, lawyer or astronaut.

Women chose: teacher, veterinarian, writer/journalist, nurse/doctor/EMT, singer.

I’m not sure what to make of this, except to suggest that guys are hopeless fantasists and girls seem to have some really serious STEM (science, tech, engineering, math) aversion.

Let’s parse these a bit:

Guys, clearly, want: power (physical, mechanical, financial), fame/groupies, a view from high above the earth, literal or metaphorical. Each of their choices relies on individual strength and skill, even when used within a team environment. Each allows them to be a hero, to save lives and/or make history.

Girls, it seems, want: emotional connection, intellectual growth, to help and nurture others. Their choices suggest they want to relate to children or animals or other people in a helping manner — or just be famous, dammit!

The question that most intrigues me is…why? Do men and women want such utterly different lives, incomes and trajectories of influence because of their parents? What they read? See on television? Their friends and neighbors?

I wanted to be a writer since I was very small, partly because my mother was a journalist for magazines and it looked like a hell of a lot of paid fun. (It is, at its best.)

I also wanted to be, for a while, a radio DJ, an actress, a photographer and a foreign correspondent. I did a lot of acting in productions at summer camp and was good at it, but knew the odds of professional success were slim. I started out as a photographer by selling three magazine cover images when I was still in high school and did news photography for a while, but male editors and art directors refused to give me work, arguing that men with families (!) needed it more than I.

So I stuck with journalism/publishing which, in many ways, has been my dream job. It suits me emotionally, intellectually, politically and spiritually — I know, for a fact (thanks to some powerful emails over the years) — that my work has touched people. One woman said a medical story of mine had even saved her life. For me, no paycheck is large enough to compensate for work that fails to connect people to one another. I learn something new almost every single day. I know that providing accurate, timely and useful information is essential to democracy and any form of social justice, and I get to be a part of that.

The money is shitty, but occasionally better. I like working with a tremendous amount of physical and intellectual freedom and autonomy. I loathe routine. I like meeting people from every walk of life, as I have, from Prime Ministers and Queen Elizabeth and Olympic athletes to convicted felons and victims of violence.

I love being paid to have an idea and explore it in depth, sharing the result with millions of readers. It’s a huge thrill knowing that my two books are in libraries all over the world.

And I love being part of an international tribe, men and women of all ages who still get up in the morning dying to get to the next story, whether they’ll tell it through words or images or sounds, or perhaps all three. When a journalist is killed covering a story, we all feel a little ill, because it could have been us or our husband or someone we’ve worked with — or have. I’ve been fortunate enough throughout my career, which began when I was still an undergrad at University of Toronto, to find editors willing to entrust me with their pages, budgets and assignments. They’ve sent me to a tiny Arctic village, to a Club Med in Mexico (!), to dance at Lincoln Center in New York, to Google’s headquarters in Silicon Valley, to Edmonton and Winnipeg and Copenhagen.

It’s not been a picnic! Some bosses have been toxic brutes, male and female bullies whose behavior rendered me physically sick with stress. One editor’s criticism of my writing actually left me in tears, (I was very young), but also forever changed my writing for the better.

Here’s a beautiful blog post by friend and fellow writer Cynthia Ramnarace — whose New York home was ravaged by Hurricane Sandy — about the extraordinary kindness her former newsroom colleagues recently showed her, eight years after she moved away. I doubt you’d ever get this in a cut-throat big-city newsroom, but there is a deeply shared set of values most journalists have in common, which I really appreciate still, after 30 years in the biz.

My alternate dream jobs? Choreographer, owner of a small housewares store, interior designer, jet pilot, conference organizer, consultant and public speaker. I think a few of them are still possible!

Are you in your dream job?

If not, why not?

If so, tell us about it!

  1. I’m trying to make it so that someday I will be in my dream job. In the meantime, I work part-time for my university and study full-time. As they say, that’s life.

  2. I have been told from a very young age, and at least from career training age, that what one does to earn may not be what is meaningful or fulfilling to a life. Very few people I know have had a calling to a profession or have even found that their natural gifts have a career path that they could find. The ones who do are lucky, but even those with a calling and a commitment have found significant bumps in the road, whether it is the ability to earn or the meaningfulness of the work. As usual, you bring up a great topic.

  3. I’m not sure there’s such a thing as a dream job so much as a dream life: for me, that’s a number of somethings that balance creativity with financial security and giving back to the world. My dream life today looks like being paid to write fiction, supplemented by owning a small business that brightens my community, and teaching/volunteering. Oh, if only! I might have to blog about this later to get it off my chest!

  4. I think it often depends on the age/stage of life of the person answering the question. For many, their dream jobs change as they mature and life circumstances change.

    But no, I’m not in my dream job. And my dream hasn’t changed much, other than to shift from wanting to be a wri-taaah to wanting to be a working, paid writer. :)

  5. I think that’s very true…I also think it depends how realistic one’s notion of any job is…like “working, paid writer.” :-)

    Working, yes. Paid? Depends on your definition of “paid.” Rates of pay for many freelance journalists, certainly, are just about where they were in the 1970s, so my “dream job” at 25 is paying the same wages today. That’s a bit of a nightmare, even being a working paid writer.

  6. I realize that blog awards probably don’t blend well with your WP theme, but I gave you one anyway. Just letting you know how fabulous I think your blog is.

    http://moonbeammcqueen.com/2012/11/28/dear-oh-dear-blog-of-the-year/

  7. I’m still a student, working my way to my dream job…and I suppose discovering what that is. Starting with marine biologist I’ve wanted to be an OB/Gyn, film director, actress, teacher, museum curator, food critic, foreign correspondent, baker, musician/singer/harpist, and journalist. I’ve realized lately that my true passion and drive lies in writing, but some of those old dreams resurface and I’ve no idea where life’ll take me…only time will tell!

    • That’s a long list. The challenge will be, if you choose writing, to make a decent living at it. It can be done, but it’s rarely easy or quick.

      • Oh believe me, I know. I’ve long made my piece with a shoebox life and possibly extra schooling. The plan (if I get desperate for cash is to go to nursing school and become a midwife). That said, I intend to keep submitting pieces to editors and working and trying. Writing is extremely challenging, but also really rewarding, so I think it’s worth it. Your blog/your experiences inspire me so much too, especially since your honest about the fact that it’s not as glamorous as some think.

  8. I’m going towards my dream job- being a writer. Becoming a journalist is definitely a big step on the way. Thanks for sharing your story, it’s very inspiring to me.

  9. [...] one of my favourite blogs, Broadside, published a question that’s on my mind almost as constantly as Alfie’s train of [...]

  10. i never wanted to be a teacher, but i became one by accident, and it was a love/hate job for 25 years. now, i want to write stories. well, i already do write stories. just nobody knows yet.

  11. Reblogged this on DEACademics and commented:
    Thinking about career options? Hoping to work in your dream industry? Check out this interesting blog about dream jobs from Broadside.

  12. I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,211 other followers

