Fleeing toxicity

By Caitlin Kelly

I took on a freelance project in August that, while hardly ideal, sounded like it might be worth doing.

I was willing to try.

It was a lot of hard work for not-enough money.

It was also, though, a lot of hard work with editors whose skills proved deeply disappointing.

Last week I ditched it.

I rarely walk away from regular paid work; like every full-time freelancer (or anyone running a business), I know how difficult it can be replace one client with another or, more realistically, with three or four.

But I finally hit breaking point when I spoke up for myself (not a quick decision) — and in reply was smacked down like a puppy who’d peed the rug.

By someone barely one-third my age and with two years’ experience.

Done.

Anyone who grew up in a family where their feelings were routinely ignored, let alone one with some seriously nasty behavior patterns, knows that it can a lifelong challenge to parse what’s “normal”, (especially indifference to respecting you), and what isn’t.

To determine if it’s “just you” feeling shitty about that relationship all the time, or maybe, just maybe, there’s a reason for that, and you need to get away now.

To know when to stand up for yourself — sick to death of cringing and genuflecting to people whose treatment of you is miserable, but whose payments cover stuff like your groceries and health insurance.

And to know when to simply say, enough toxic bullshit.

Throughout my life, I’ve marked these pivotal moments with a piece of jewelry, a talisman to signify, with beauty and grace and a tangible memory of taking the best possible care of myself, the important transition away from a soul-sucking situation and a movement towards freedom, re-definition and independence.

It’s scary.

It’s not easy.

I don’t bolt quickly, easily or without much deliberation and self-doubt.

The first was the decision to end my first marriage, at least in its then-iteration, (deeply lonely, adulterous on his part), while I was 100 percent reliant on his income.

img_20161206_112047021_hdr

I was alone in Thailand, onΒ  Ko Phi Phi, a remote island when I decided. I bought a coral and turquoise and silver ring for about $20 and brought it home to remind me of my resolution. My husband, of course, didn’t like its style. Within six months, the marriage was over.

The second was putting my alcoholic mother into a nursing home. Our relationship had been tumultuous for decades. The experience was emotionally brutal for reasons too tedious to detail here.

I found, in a craft shop on Granville Island in Vancouver, a small sterling silver heart that looked like a stone that had washed up on some beach or river shore, pitted and rutted, battered — but intact.

img_20161205_171357432

It symbolized exactly how I felt; I wear it on a long piece of cord.

The third was this one, to shed a client I’d had doubts about from start.

So I found this gorgeous small lock at a Christmas market in New York’s Bryant Park, a Turkish design. It consumed almost exactly the paltry sum I’ll earn from my last piece of work for them.

img_20161205_125126208

Open the lock.

Go.

Freedom feels good.

Talismans remind me to chase it, cherish it and never relinquish it so easily again.

16 thoughts on “Fleeing toxicity

  1. Pingback: Fleeing toxicity β€” Broadside | gramirezblog

    1. Thanks for those kind words!

      It took me a while to realize that this had become a pattern for me. It’s so hard (for me and some others, I’m sure) to ditch bad situations. As soon as I did that with the bad gig (!) something else terrific showed up within hours. Whew. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, this one touches me. Well said. A long time ago, I gave up a client when I could least afford to do so. But, my gut told me to let her go to make room for new and better. I’ve never regretted it. And now, when those alarm bells clang in my head as someone approaches me with potential work, I listen. I’m so glad you corrected your situation. And I love the idea of talismans to mark bravery in difficult times. You’ve chosen well!

      1. Yes! And I am a big believer that when you assert your worth, showing the universe you are well aware of it, it rewards you with a new client that sees your worth. I realize that is much easier for me to say right now than for you to feel, but I am wishing it for you.

      2. Thanks…You get so beaten down. That’s the key reason to go, before your self-confidence is so trampled you can’t explain your value — which we must — to the next person.

  3. I was just cursing my need for the affirmation I felt I was due, but didn’t receive, today- Thanks to your post, I know I’m going to get over it-as soon as the boutiques open tomorrow. πŸ˜‰ I can’t wait to find that special piece that will remind me of my worth!

  4. i understand every single word of this. i love the talismans – when i went to ireland this summer, a few weeks after what turned into a one-sided relationship ended, i looked for and found heart stones everywhere. they were my talismans and i found my own heart once more.

  5. Pingback: [BLOG] Some Wednesday links | A Bit More Detail

  6. Pingback: [BLOG] Some Wednesday links | A Bit More Detail

Leave a Reply

