What makes a leader? They inspire others

By Caitlin Kelly

So often, we hear the word “leader” in a religious or political context, usually someone in authority with lots of power over lots of people, often an older white man.

I think of a leader very differently, someone like the late Martin Luther King, who we all know led a social justice movement or Cesar Chavez, working to better the life of farmworkers. Someone who inspires others to follow their lead and urges others to do so as well — for the greater good.

To me, the most compelling leaders see a formerly invisible or unfilled need and step up to help others with it.

One of my journalism idols is Nobel winner Maria Ressa, co-winner of the 2021 Peace Prize. I find her courage and commitment to journalism so inspiring.

I belong to several online writers’ groups, some of which are mutually helpful, generous and supportive — and some which have torn apart in rage and bitterness. Such is social media, sometimes not so social!

But one member of one group has created an online meeting twice a month where we gather to talk about money: how to make more, how to save more, how to ask for more, how to invest. We’re all freelancers, so we also have precarity in common when it comes to incomes that often arrive later than wanted and needed. I’ve been struck by the fact only women show up, even though it’s open to anyone in that larger group. Men have no money issues? Or maybe no one dares admit to having any.

I’m so grateful to her for thinking this up and making it a welcoming hour we all look forward to. By doing so, she has also created community, something so lacking for many of us now.

That’s leadership in my book!

Selfishly, I also took the lead last year in creating a new $1,000 annual award at my Toronto high school for creativity. That’s a big number for me to commit to, but it’s also a good chunk of change for many teenagers. What happened next moved me and surprised me; four others from my graduating class immediately stepped up and offered to share that cost, made easy thanks to a well-designed website by the Toronto District School Board, and the help of the school’s guidance counselor and teachers, who nominate the finalists.

I wrote about it for my old newspaper, called it microphilanthropy, and it prompted others to think of doing the same.

Score!

Here’s the piece I wrote.

Have you created a leadership role for yourself?

Leave a comment