Twelve Tips For Women Traveling Alone

Waikawau Bay in the Coromandel Peninsula
The Coromandel, in New Zealand...Heaven on earth! Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been alone in many places: D.C., Vancouver, Istanbul, Ko Phi Phi, Palermo, Key West, Tunis. I live to travel and, many times, there’s no one with the same budget, interests, schedule or passions with whom to share a journey.

So I happily go alone.

My mother traveled the world alone for many years — all throughout Latin America in her 40s, the South Pacific, overland from London to the Mideast, India. She taught me not only to be (safely) fearless, but to keep a current passport and a passion for using it.

Here are twelve tips for solo women travelers of all ages:

Know where you’re going. What are their underlying beliefs, customs, rituals, dress? The countryside of Portugal, for example, was even tougher than urban Istanbul for relentless male attention or harassment. Even catching someone’s gaze was unwise. Some cities have their own codes of dress: wear Easter egg pastels, baggy sweats, white athletic shoes or nude hose in downtown Manhattan (or Paris!) and, yes, you’ll be viewed as a tourist and treated accordingly.

Do your homework and decide how much you want to stand out or blend in; as a woman alone, blending in is usually the wiser, safer option. (Headscarves, long sleeves, a salwar kameez, etc.) It shows respect for where you are, which will often be returned with more welcoming treatment. Speaking some of the local language is also a key way to signal this.

Do your homework. There are many ways to determine which areas, streets or neighborhoods are more or less safe for a solo woman. One of my favorite resources is The Thorn Tree, an online bulletin board on the Lonely Planet website. When I and my then best friend, two blonds from NY (albeit savvy and well-traveled) were heading off to Venezuela for a week, we posted some specific questions there and found fantastic, detailed answers (even a local travel agent we used) from a British ex-pat then in Mexico.

Read the local newspaper. Find out what’s happening, and not just on-line. Read the editorials and op-eds; what are people talking about there and why? Read letters to the editor. What sort of fun events are listed for the weekend? Key: if you’re in a part of the world where men are relentlessly going to try to catch your eye and chat you up, hiding behind a spread-out broadsheet is a great choice. Worked for me in Spain and Portugal.

Unplug from technology. For several reasons. If you’re in a poorer, rural environment, be sensitive to the lives of people who may be living on $1 -2 per day. If you’re going somewhere to see, smell, taste and hear it, be there. Remain open to it in every way possible.

A set of earbuds shuts you off from potential conversation, advice — and warnings. I would never ever walk around plugged in, alone, in many parts of the world. You must remain aware of your surroundings to stay safe.

Pay attention. This will make your trip more social, fun and interesting, but will also keep you safe. Look around — are there other women there as well? Are they safe? What are they wearing? How are they behaving? In many more socially conservative parts of the world, women don’t leave their home without the officially sanctioned accompaniment of a child, husband or parent.

A woman alone there, to the larger culture, often reads: looking…sexual…naive. Even if you’re not.

Do some of your favorite activities. I took a ballet class in Paris, and mid back-bend, stared up into hand-painted 18th-century ceiling beams. In Coayacan, a suburb of Mexico City, I took a watercolor class and finally learned how to work more effectively on larger pieces. In Los Angeles, I galloped through the dusty hills of Griffiths Park at sunset, then danced to live blues at Harvelle’s, an 80-year-old nightclub in Santa Monica. Heaven!

Take a yoga, spinning or dance class. Attend service at a local church or synagogue.

Take a hike! Get into nature, wherever you end up: walk along the river or lakeside; rent a canoe or kayak or sailboat; go for a bike ride. Pack a pair of running shoes and some comfy workout clothes so you can take advantage of the great outdoors wherever you are. Great way to meet locals — and their dogs.

Plan your evenings. I admit it, evenings can be tougher when you’re alone and female. Do you really want to venture out alone, for a meal, a show, a concert? Yes! But use your hotel concierge — or even a youth hostel’s evening group events — to help you make safe, wise, fun choices. I always search for concerts and museum shows at every city I plan to visit, and build in time to enjoy what the locals love. Splurge on cabs when necessary.

Sit at the bar. That’s where people on their own are often happiest and most comfortable, not just boozers chatting up the bartender. I had a great conversation in a dive bar in Atlanta with a young man working in finance as we whiled away the early evening. Many of a city’s best restaurants serve meals at the bar, where you can feel less obvious and self-conscious as a woman out alone, and a good barkeep will keep an eye on you.

Plan for the beach. I always take a small plastic case I can tuck into my bathing suit, which will hold my credit card/debit card/cash, freeing me to swim or snorkel without worrying someone is nabbing my stuff. If you like to sail, kayak, canoe, snorkel, surf….check out local facilities and build them into your trip; always take a bathing suit, windbreaker and golf or baseball cap to protect your head.

Stay sober. Seriously. Only once in my life (boring, but true) have I gotten really drunk, at a bar in San Francisco (not on purpose  — long day, empty stomach) and was able to stagger safely the few blocks back to my hotel. Insanity. True insanity.

No matter how lonely, depressed or vacay-ish you’re feeling, getting drunk or stoned around strangers is a profoundly stupid and potentially life-threatening choice. You’re alone. Who’s going to offer your medical history to the EMTs or ER? Or the police?

Be open to meeting people. I’ve enjoyed meals and even overnight stays in the homes of strangers I’ve met along the way, from the Cote d’Azur to the Coromandel Peninsula. One of the greatest pleasures of traveling alone, as a woman, is how many people are happy to welcome you into their lives and homes. I met a flight attendant from Paraguay at Honolulu airport, shared a cab with her and, realizing how cheaply she got her hotel room, buddied up with her for the week. In New Zealand, four lovely kids in their 20s met me at the youth hostel, adopted me, took me to a beach house, then home to a hill-top mansion outside Auckland. When they all waved goodbye to me at the airport, it was terribly hard to leave!

Not every man is out to get you or jump you! Not every friendly conversation is some sort of trap.

But some are.

Learning to quickly and accurately suss out the good ‘uns will keep you safe and send you back home with indelible, amazing memories.(My very worst experiences, i.e. criminal ones, happened in my suburban New York town. Maybe because my guard was down?)

Here’s a great website with resources for solo female travelers and here’s a list with six other smart tips.

What tips have you found helpful in your journeys?

19 thoughts on “Twelve Tips For Women Traveling Alone

  1. jacquelincangro

    These are some great tips! I like the idea of using a newspaper to ward off unwanted advances. Hadn’t thought of that before.

    I also think it’s important to trust your intuition. If you are really unsure about a certain neighborhood or person, you are probably wise to steer clear.

  2. One more tip, leave your travel agenda with someone, and contact them immediately, should something change. (Perhaps an obvious suggestion; alas in the heat of the moment, might slip the mind of the traveler.)

    Now I want to plan a solitary trip…

  3. Farin

    I travel alone quite a lot, mostly to big cities. I always read up on what to watch out for (e.x. those “rose sellers” on the Spanish Steps in Rome, who will thrust a rose in your hand and try to scam you for money) and stick to a few tried and true “New Yorker” attitudes: be aware, walk with purpose (even if you have a map in your hand), and try and stick to heavily populated and well lit areas at night. Thankfully, I’ve never been pickpocketed or in a situation that’s made bells and whistles go off in my head, although I have been approached by a few unsavory characters who I can usually send away with a few firm words.

    I wholeheartedly agree with sitting at the bar and getting to know the people around you–I met some really nice people in Ireland that way. I’m also all for getting to know the people at your hostel, because they’re usually nice and very interesting, and you might get a temporary tour buddy into the bargain.

    And I always touch base at a synagogue or a Chabad house when I visit a foreign country so that I can attend a service if I want to. As an added bonus, there’s usually a museum attached to the synagogue, so I get to learn about how my culture lives in another country.

      1. Farin

        I love it because I get to see what I want at my own pace. Traveling with friends is a blast, but you have to accomodate everyone’s taste, not to mention that most of my friends don’t walk as fast as I do 😛

  4. Interesting post. I have to say, as a man, I don’t necessarily consider the repercussions of traveling alone… I do it for work all the time, I strangely assume that I’ll manage to stay in control of the situations presented to me.

    My parents have told me that they wanted to give their children the “gift” of being “okay, comfortable, and wise” when it comes to new travels, cultures, and experiences. They did their best, as my family took several “working” vacations around the world. I’m thankful for the exposure I had as child growing up.

    Whenever I can find the chance to get out of my current surroundings and explore the world some more, I’ll think about this advice.

  5. I suspect men are, in general, more comfortable being alone and less fearful of attack or unwanted male attention, which seems to be the primary concern for some women. That, and being seen alone…which for some women means they are somehow less attractive.

    I see a woman alone and assume she’s got some confidence.

  6. This post couldn’t have come at a better time! I’ve traveled alone in the past, but only for a few days at a time. Next week I will be traveling solo in Italy for a period of two weeks.

    These are great tips to keep in mind. I especially like the “plan your evenings” suggestion. It’s easy for me to keep busy during the day with touring and visiting art galleries, but evenings are a bit more challenging.

    Thanks, Caitlin!

  7. Phil

    What a terrific and informative post! My daughter travels quite frequently and several times has done so alone. I will certainly pass along this information and link to this post. Thanks for taking the time to write this piece, and to encourage women to see and experience the world.

  8. Pingback: 12 Travel Tips for Women Traveling Alone « Holistic Healing in Mexico

  9. Snoring Dog Studio

    Wonderful post! As a woman who rarely travels alone – except for business trips – I needed this. I’m careful when I travel but there were a lot of other tips here that didn’t occur to me, such as dressing for the location. I really hope to travel to New York city next year or perhaps San Fran, and I want to be ready. I want to have a good experience so that I can do it again! Thank you!

  10. I love traveling alone. But, my family think I am crazy. I am going to share your list with them so they know that I am going to be a responsible traveler. Great site as well. Happy to follow.

    1. Thanks for visiting and following!

      No one should ever second-guess or criticize your choice to travel alone, as long as you are safe and respect the customs of the place you’re in. Women, especially, need to remind themselves that we DO have the power — financially and emotionally — to have adventures, at every age, and to make new friends wherever we go. I simply do not understand anyone who quakes in fear at the notion of not having someone with them at all times. It’s the greatest luxury to do whatever you want in a new, fresh place!

  11. Pingback: Sunday reading | Bite-sized Travel

  12. Pingback: How dangerous is it for women to travel alone? | Broadside

  13. Pingback: Why travel? | Broadside

  14. Pingback: Are you scared to be alone? | Broadside

Leave a comment